Pug Authority Forum
Welcome to the Pug Authority forum!

This is a fun, supportive community of pug owners who are dedicated to sharing our experiences regarding responsible pug ownership and learning from others.

You are currently viewing the forum as guest which does not give you the same access as members. Please click the Register button below to join our community! If you are already a member, please log-in!

Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  Guest on 3/11/2010, 12:07 am

Having raised two beautiful fawn pugs, I find myself daydreaming about getting a black pug someday. My partner is dead set against it, saying that black pugs have more health problems, due to some sort of genetic vulnerability. Can anyone offer any advice or information on this topic? Thanks!

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  smoochieface on 3/11/2010, 12:22 am

I have only had fawns so no personal experience. However, I believe that black pugs are more likely to be single-coated and the single-coated pugs do shed slightly less than the double-coated pugs.

smoochieface
 
 

Number of posts: 5123
Location: California

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  Pugsavers on 3/11/2010, 12:38 am

I have never heard of any "genetic" issue with black pugs vs. fawns. I have seen literally many hundreds of pugs through 14 years of rescue and the only reason there are not as many black pugs vs. fawn is that they historically do not do as well in the show ring.

Personally, I LOVE the black pug boy personality (the females tend to be diva's, the boys are total snuggle bugs).

I'd ask your partner where on earth they got that information.

Pugsavers
 
 

Number of posts: 1541
Location: Sacramento, CA

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  Aussie Witch on 3/11/2010, 1:45 am

In over 40 years experience with pugs, I have ever heard of this. Ask for scientific data to back it up.

Aussie Witch
 
 

Number of posts: 8556
Location: The Antipodes.

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  MommaJones on 3/11/2010, 5:29 am

I have 2 black male pugs who are (knock on wood) pretty healthy. They are the light of my life and currently both snuggled on my lap with the laptop balanced on the arm of my chair.

MommaJones
 
 

Number of posts: 3761
Location: Ingalls, KS

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  northernwitch on 3/11/2010, 5:35 am

Bull roar on the more prone to genetic issues. Never ever heard that.

They do seem to have more attitude than the fawns and seem to be busier than the fawns. There are exceptions to that, obviously. But every black I've had in foster care has been hilariously (and sometimes, maddeningly) naughty.

Personally, I prefer the fawns, but it's not that I don't like the blacks. I just love the look of the fawns and have always had a fondness for them.

northernwitch
 
 

Number of posts: 11031
Location: Toronto, Ontario

http://www.pugalug.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  Guest on 3/11/2010, 6:08 am

I have one of each, my black boy has no more or less health issues than my fawn, if anything my fawn has been to the vets way more.
I have never heard of that theory.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  ayleash on 3/11/2010, 6:51 am

northernwitch wrote:... I just love the look of the fawns and have always had a fondness for them.

You mean a "fawnedness"!! LOL


I do thing my black female is a diva... and a busy body.. and she is my pack's "alpha" - a bully even tho she is not the largest, nor the oldest, nor the youngest, nor the first to arrive... she just insists on being in charge.

No additional health issues whatsoever... and she does shed less than my fawn.

Here ends my report from the trenches.

ayleash
 
 

Number of posts: 1496
Location: Boston, MA

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  Amanda on 3/11/2010, 7:27 am

My first pug was a male fawn and was an absolute doll! I think I still have the biggest fondness for the fawn boys but I now have 2 girls. One black, one fawn. Knock on wood, both have been relatively healthy. Nell (black) is now 8 and Lucy is 4. Nell has had chronic allergy issues and now at 8 is starting to have some knee issues but otherwise, we've been lucky. Lucy has also not had any major health issues. Nell is my first black but she is definitely a diva and naughty. She's also terribly smart which is likely what contributes to her naughtiness. Kind of like a kid who gets in trouble in school and it's because they're bored.

***********************
Amanda, mom to Nell, Lucy & Ava
www.littlebeanshop.etsy.com

Amanda
 

Number of posts: 6990
Location: Maryland

http://www.pugauthority.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  Guest on 3/11/2010, 8:44 am

Maybe the blacks are less prone to abuse? LOL I have 9 rescues, and all are fawns, not any preference, just that is how they came. I would love a black one, but 9 is enough for now.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  Saira on 3/11/2010, 8:46 am

Pugsavers wrote:I have never heard of any "genetic" issue with black pugs vs. fawns. I have seen literally many hundreds of pugs through 14 years of rescue and the only reason there are not as many black pugs vs. fawn is that they historically do not do as well in the show ring.

Personally, I LOVE the black pug boy personality (the females tend to be diva's, the boys are total snuggle bugs).

.

Yes, agree with all this. I have 2 black pugs, and 1 fawn. We have seen a mix of fawn and black in rescue and haven't ever heard or seen more more issues with black pugs. I have a huge weakness for the black pugs too, my little boy is the biggest cuddler in the world.

The little girl, Sophie, is a naughty busy body, so the theory that black pugs are naughtier might have some truth in it... Laughing

Saira
 
 

Number of posts: 8302
Location: Las Vegas, NV

http://www.rescuepugs.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  Amanda on 3/11/2010, 9:20 am

PUGSMUM wrote:Maybe the blacks are less prone to abuse? LOL

LESS prone to abuse? I've threatened to sell Nell to circus many more times than Lucy!

***********************
Amanda, mom to Nell, Lucy & Ava
www.littlebeanshop.etsy.com

Amanda
 

Number of posts: 6990
Location: Maryland

http://www.pugauthority.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  PugLady3 on 3/11/2010, 9:26 am

I have to agree with the others - black = more health issues? Nope. More naughty/bossy? Definitely! Bella is our only black pug but we've had several black fosters. Bella was a puppymill rescue but is probably the healthiest of the bunch (knock wood!).

PugLady3
 
 

Number of posts: 2562
Location: Geneva, IL

http://www.northernillinoispugrescue.org

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  LisaIzzyAggy on 3/11/2010, 10:22 am

I agree with everyone on the health issues. However, Izzy takes exception to black girls being more naughty/bossy. She says she's fawn and has yet to meet the pug who can out naughty her.

LisaIzzyAggy
 
 

Number of posts: 3000
Location: Ohio

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  puglover22 on 3/11/2010, 10:45 am

I prefer the fawn's because they're easier to find a flea on!

puglover22
 
 

Number of posts: 608
Location: chicago

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  Maryjo on 3/11/2010, 11:23 am

I get pugs, black or fawn, via rescue. I take in any pug who needs a home regardless of color.

That being said... I saw a picture of Chloe (my sweet, one-eyed, black pug girl diva), and fell in love. Marci was fostering her. Chloe was a rescue from SEPRA, and, after getting approved, Marci brought her to Alaska. The rest is history.

I had just lost the second of my twin fawn pugs a few months before seeing Chloe, (Thelma & Louisie), and although I love my boy pugs to death, I wanted a girl to spoil again, but one who wouldn't remind me too much of Thelma & Louisie (my heart pugs who I miss to this day). Chloe is NOTHING like T&L, and brings me all kinds of joy daily with her zest for life! What a blessing to have her here!

Right now I have 4, three fawn boys and Chloe. She rules them with an iron paw.

Whatever your choice, remember that the pug often chooses you, color not withstanding.

Maryjo
 
 

Number of posts: 4952
Location: Anchorage, AK

http://www.maryjoalaska.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  Maryjo on 3/11/2010, 11:23 am

puglover22 wrote:I prefer the fawn's because they're easier to find a flea on!

Move to Alaska... No fleas up here! *LOL*

Maryjo
 
 

Number of posts: 4952
Location: Anchorage, AK

http://www.maryjoalaska.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  Renee on 3/11/2010, 11:46 am

Gotta chime in here: I have 2 fawns and 1 black. He doesn't have any more medical issues than any of our other pugs. He is a little different, more playful, friendlier, but he is just the best!! I too, think he may be smarter.

I think, a dog is a dog, regardless of fur color - and you get what you get. Our most expensive dog has been our fawn boy Ichiro. And, his issues have NOTHING to do with color, and everything to do with having come from a puppy mill. Good breeding will make the difference, not color.

Renee
 
 

Number of posts: 5694
Location: Anchorage Alaska

http://www.polarpug.org

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  Pugsaunt on 3/11/2010, 2:36 pm

I've only had one pug - my black diva alpha bitch, Penny Lane. Her health issues came from no care for the first years of her life. With drops for her eyes and glucosamine/etc. for her arthritis, she is a spry, spunky, bossy, opinionated, smart as a whip, queen of my world. And if you don't believe it, just ask her. I have, however, known quite a few fawn and black pugs, and I have seen no health differences. I think the black pugs are more active, and I have never met a black girl puggie who was not a diva. Just my 2 cents.

Pugsaunt
 
 

Number of posts: 6877
Location: On the shores of Penny's Marina in Sparks, NV

Back to top Go down

Re: Requesting Opinion re black pugs vs fawn pugs

Post  Not Afraid on 3/11/2010, 3:42 pm

The fact that you can get blacks and fawns from the same litter makes the think that the "health issue" suggestion is a bunch of phooey. Compare that to humans.....do red heads have more health issues than blonds? Not a bit. Why would it be any different in pugs?

Personality is a whole different subject. But, having a snuggly boy who is a sweet as pie and a feisty girl who is trouble through and through when she's NOT being a sweetheart, makes the think that it's the gender that makes the difference. Girls are BAAAAD news (but so completely wonderful that you forgive them instantly).

Not Afraid
 
 

Number of posts: 5095
Location: Long Beach, CA

Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum